Toronto City Council appointed the new TTC Board on December 13, a mix of councillors and citizens who must be dedicated to ensuring our public transit system remains reliable, safe and prepared for the future. Councillor Jaye Robinson, of Ward 15 Don Valley West, will serve as Board Chair – and upon The Board’s first meeting, a citizen member will be elected Vice-Chair.

The TTC Board will play a crucial role in opposing Premier Doug Ford’s so-called subway upload. The Board oversees constructing, maintaining, operating and expanding the public transit system – all of which are under attack by the Premier’s scheme to rob the TTC of its crown jewel: the subway.

ATU Local 113 looks forward to working with councillors and citizens on the TTC Board to fight for a properly funded, public transit system that works for all and to build public understanding of all that’s at stake for our prosperous, vibrant city.

The TTC Board includes the following members:

  • Councillor Jaye Robinson (Ward 15 Don Valley West)
  • Councillor Brad Bradford (Ward 19 Beaches-East York)
  • Councillor Shelley Carroll (Ward 17 Don Valley North)
  • Councillor Jim Karygiannis (Ward 22 Scarborough-Agincourt)
  • Councillor Jennifer McKelvie (Ward 25 Scarborough-Rouge Park)
  • Councillor Denzil Minnan-Wong (Ward 16 Don Valley East)
  • Joanne De Laurentiis (Citizen)
  • Alan Heisey, Q.C. (Citizen)
  • Ron Lalonde (Citizen)

Our union will continue to urge all TTC board members to keep transit public – and to keep the TTC Subway system where it belongs: with Torontonians!

We’ll continue to post updates on transit matters, but you can also learn more on the TTC Board and its activities here.