ATU Local 113 Coronavirus Cases

Visit our new webpage to see the COVID-19 case updates for ATU Local 113 members.

Read more
News

ATU Local 113 asks members to call on their MPs and MPPs to support emergency government funding to stop the TTC’s pending layoffs

In response to the TTC’s announcement of 1,200 temporary layoffs – including 1,000 of our Sisters and Brothers – ATU Local 113 sent urgent letters calling for emergency public transit funding to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Premier Doug Ford and Mayor John Tory.

Now we need your help.  

We are calling on you to write and call your MP and MPP to let them know that TTC service cuts and layoffs are coming unless the federal and provincial governments provide immediate emergency financial support.

We are also encouraging all of our members to sign the TTCRiders petition calling for emergency funding for public transit at www.keeptransitmoving.ca/take-action

Without your support, service cuts and layoffs could push the public transit system of Canada’s largest city to the brink.

Let’s make sure that doesn’t happen.

In Solidarity,

– Carlos Santos, President, ATU Local 113

Find Your Riding

You can find your Federal MP and Provincial MPP by entering your postal code on the following resources:

Find Your Ontario MPP – Elections Ontario

Find Your Federal MP – Canadian House of Commons

Suggested Message

Dear [MP/MPP],

The COVID-19 pandemic has pushed the Toronto Transit Commission to the financial brink, and the agency is now looking at cutting service and laying off 1,200 essential public transit workers to make up for lost fare revenue.

Layoffs mean service cuts and cuts have consequences, especially for those essential, low-income workers who depend on the TTC every day to get to work at hospitals, nursing homes, grocery stores and pharmacies. With fewer trains and buses running, overcrowding will become more common, increasing the risk of COVID-19 spreading among our most vulnerable residents.

These cuts are a dangerous mistake and will have serious consequences for essential low-income workers who still rely on public transit to get to work during the pandemic.

Maintaining service levels and saving jobs can only happen if all levels of government step up and provide emergency financial support. I urge you to push for immediate emergency funding to protect our jobs, our health, and the future of our transit systems.

Signed,

A concerned frontline transit worker

 

Federal MPs

Beaches – East York

Nathaniel Erskine-Smith

Nathaniel.Erskine-Smith@parl.gc.ca

416-467-0860

 

Davenport

Julie Dzerowicz

Julie.Dzerowicz@parl.gc.ca

416-654-8048

 

Don Valley East

Yasmin Ratansi

Yasmin.Ratansi@parl.gc.ca

416-443-0343

 

Don Valley North

Han Dong

Han.Dong@parl.gc.ca

416-443-0623

 

Don Valley West

Robert Oliphant

Rob.Oliphant@parl.gc.ca

416-467-7275

 

Eglinton – Lawrence

Hon. Marco Mendicino

Marco.Mendicino@parl.gc.ca

416-781-5583

 

Etobicoke Centre

Yvan Baker

Yvan.Baker@parl.gc.ca

416-249-7322

 

Etobicoke Lakeshore

James Maloney

James.Maloney@parl.gc.ca

416-251-5510

 

Etobicoke North

Hon. Kirsty Duncan

kirsty.duncan@parl.gc.ca

416-747-6003

 

Humber River – Black Creek

Hon. Judy Sgro

judy.sgro@parl.gc.ca

416-744-1882

 

Parkdale – High Park

Arif Virani

Arif.Virani@parl.gc.ca

416-769-5072

 

Scarborough – Agincourt

Jean Yip

Jean.Yip@parl.gc.ca

416-321-5454

 

Scarborough – Guildwood

Hon. John McKay

john.mckay@parl.gc.ca

416-283-1226

 

Scarborough – Rouge Park

Gary Anandasangaree

Gary.Anand@parl.gc.ca

416-283-1414

 

Scarborough Centre

Salma Zahid

Salma.Zahid@parl.gc.ca

416-752-2358

 

Scarborough North

Shaun Chen

Shaun.Chen@parl.gc.ca

416-321-2436

 

Scarborough Southwest

Hon. Bill Blair

Bill.Blair@parl.gc.ca

416-261-8613

 

Spadina – Fort York

Adam Vaughan

Adam.Vaughan@parl.gc.ca

416-533-2710

 

Toronto – Danforth

Julie Dabrusin

Julie.Dabrusin@parl.gc.ca

416-405-8914

 

Toronto – St. Paul’s

Hon. Carolyn Bennett

carolyn.bennett@parl.gc.ca

416-952-3990

 

Toronto Centre

Hon. Bill Morneau

Bill.Morneau@parl.gc.ca

416-972-9749

 

University – Rosedale

Hon. Chrystia Freeland

Chrystia.Freeland@parl.gc.ca

416-928-1451

 

Willowdale

Ali Ehsassi

Ali.Ehsassi@parl.gc.ca

416-223-2858

 

York Centre

Michael Levitt

Michael.Levitt@parl.gc.ca

416-638-3700

 

York South – Weston

Hon. Ahmed Hussen

Ahmed.Hussen@parl.gc.ca

416-656-2526

 

Ontario MPPs

Beaches – East York

Rima Berns-McGown

RBerns-McGown-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-690-1032

 

Davenport

Marit Stiles

MStiles-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-535-3158

 

Don Valley East

Michael Coteau

mcoteau.mpp@liberal.ola.org

416-494-6856

 

Don Valley North

Vincent Ke

vincent.ke@pc.ola.org

416-494-8778

 

Don Valley West

Kathleen Wynne

kwynne.mpp@liberal.ola.org

416-425-6777

 

Eglinton – Lawrence

Robin Martin

robin.martin@pc.ola.org

416-781-2395

 

Etobicoke Centre

Hon. Kinga Surma

kinga.surma@pc.ola.org

416-234-2800

 

Etobicoke Lakeshore

Christine Hogarth

christine.hogarth@pc.ola.org

416-259-2249

 

Etobicoke North

Hon. Doug Ford

doug.ford@pc.ola.org

416-745-2859

 

Humber River – Black Creek

Tom Rakocevic

TRakocevic-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-743-7272

 

Parkdale – High Park
Bhutila Karpoche

BKarpoche-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-763-5630

 

Scarborough – Agincourt

Aris Babikian

aris.babikian@pc.ola.org

416-297-6568

 

Scarborough – Guildwood

Mitzie Hunter

mhunter.mpp@liberal.ola.org

416-281-2787

 

Scarborough – Rouge Park

Vijay Thanigasalam

vijay.thanigasalam@pc.ola.org

416-283-8448

 

Scarborough Centre

Christina Maria Mitas

christina.mitas@pc.ola.org

416-615-2183

 

Scarborough North

Hon. Raymond Sung Joon Cho

raymond.cho@pc.ola.org

416-297-5040

 

Scarborough Southwest

Doly Begum

DBegum-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-261-9525

 

Spadina – Fort York

Chris Glover

CGlover-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-603-9664

 

Toronto – Danforth

Peter Tabuns

tabunsp-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-461-0223

 

Toronto – St. Paul’s

Jill Andrew

JAndrew-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-656-0943

 

Toronto Centre

Suze Morrison

SMorrison-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-972-7683

 

University – Rosedale

Jessica Bell

JBell-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-535-7206

 

Willowdale

Stan Cho

stan.cho@pc.ola.org

416-733-7878

 

York Centre

Roman Baber

roman.baber@pc.ola.org

416-630-0080

 

York South – Weston

Faisal Hassan

FHassan-QP@ndp.on.ca

416-243-7984