To kick-off the provincial election campaign, hundreds gathered at Queen’s Park demanding Ontario Keep Transit Public. Now, as a new government is sworn-in, Ontarians remain steadfast against privatization calling on legislators to stand up for public transit – wherever and whenever they can.

During the campaign, 17 current Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs) signed the Keep Transit Public pledge. Find their names below.

Here is what they committed to:

  • Provide support and advocate that the TTC will operate and maintain all existing and future LRT, subway, bus, WheelTrans, streetcar, SRT and related services with a view to returning services to the TTC where they have been contracted out.
  • Support existing and future transit development that is publicly funded, owned, operated and maintained by the TTC.
  • Reject utilizing the P3 (Public Private Partnerships) model for future transit development in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area.
  • Reject the “contracting-out” of public transit services.
  • Reject the provincial uploading of transit assets.

Now, more than ever, it is important for those who value public services to raise their voices against privatization – a practice that costs the taxpayers more in the long-term. Learn more about the campaign and join the thousands of Ontarians who have signed the Keep Transit Public petition here.

Doly Begum headshot

Doly Begum, NDP

Riding: Scarborough Southwest

Peter Tabuns headshot

Peter Tabuns, NDP

Riding: Toronto-Danforth