The Keep Transit Public campaign gained momentum with a big win at Toronto City Council.

The campaign, supported by ATU Local 113, ATU Canada, and ATU International–was successful in having Toronto City Council pass a motion today that ensures transit in the municipality remains public and continues to be operated and maintained by the Toronto Transit Commission.

The motion, tabled by Councillor Joe Mihevc and seconded by Councillor Mike Layton, recommends that:

  1. City Council advise Metrolinx of its commitment to ensure that transit within the City of Toronto remains under public ownership through the Toronto Transit Commission.
  2. City Council advise Metrolinx that the Toronto Transit Commission should operate the Eglinton Crosstown LRT indefinitely and endeavour to ensure that maintenance of the Eglinton Crosstown be returned to the Toronto Transit Commission.
  3. City Council advise Metrolinx that the Toronto Transit Commission should operate and maintain the forthcoming Finch LRT line.
  4. City Council advise Metrolinx that the City of Toronto should continue to own, operate and maintain the Toronto subway system and that transit within the City of Toronto should not be uploaded or otherwise transferred, in whole or in part, to the Province of Ontario.

“After years of creeping privatization by the province and Metrolinx, Toronto City Council said no to privatization and yes to keeping transit public,” said John Di Nino, Executive Board Member of ATU Local 113 and lead of the Keep Transit Public campaign. “We call on Metrolinx to act on the direction of Toronto’s elected representatives who want all transit operations and maintenance to remain in public hands.”

A special thank you to Councillor Joe Mihevc and Councillor Mike Layton for their leadership in keeping Toronto’s transit in Toronto’s hands.

This adopted motion by Toronto City Council, which passed 30-6, is especially important with the upcoming Ontario provincial election on June 7.

“The Ontario Liberals and Ontario PC’s both prefer to line the pockets of big, multinational companies through privatization instead of investing more money into public transit,” said John Di Nino. “Through our work with the Keep Transit Public campaign, we are happy to see Toronto City Council taking a strong stand against Metrolinx’s privatization scheme that will only cost taxpayers more money while reducing service.”

Toronto city councillors who support keeping transit public:

  1. Councillor Paul Ainslie (Ward 43)
  2. Councillor Maria Augimeri (Ward 9)
  3. Councillor Ana Bailão (Ward 18)
  4. Councillor John Campbell (Ward 4)
  5. Councillor Josh Colle (Ward 15)
  6. Councillor Gary Crawford (Ward 36)
  7. Councillor Joe Cressy (Ward 20)
  8. Councillor Janet Davis (Ward 31)
  9. Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker (Ward 38)
  10. Councillor Justin Di Ciano (Ward 5)
  11. Councillor Frank Di Giorgio (Ward 12)
  12. Councillor Sarah Doucette (Ward 13)
  13. Councillor John Filion (Ward 23)
  14. Councillor Paula Fletcher (Ward 30)
  15. Councillor Mark Grimes (Ward 6)
  16. Councillor Jim Hart (Ward 44)
  17. Councillor Michelle Holland (Ward 35)
  18. Councillor Jim Karygiannis (Ward 39)
  19. Councillor Norm Kelly (Ward 40)
  20. Councillor Mike Layton (Ward 19)
  21. Councillor Joe Mihevc (Ward 21)
  22. Councillor Frances Nunziata (Ward 11)
  23. Councillor James Pasternak (Ward 10)
  24. Councillor Gord Perks (Ward 14)
  25. Councillor Anthony Perruzza (Ward 8)
  26. Councillor Neethan Shan (Ward 42)
  27. Councillor Michael Thompson (Ward 37)
  28. Councillor Lucy Troisi (Ward 28)
  29. Councillor Jonathan Tsao (Ward 33)
  30. Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam (Ward 27)

Toronto city councillors who oppose keeping transit public:

  1. Councillor Jon Burnside (Ward 26)
  2. Councillor Christin Carmichael Greb (Ward 16)
  3. Councillor Michael Ford (Ward 2)
  4. Councillor Stephen Holyday (Ward 3)
  5. Councillor Jaye Robinson (Ward 25)
  6. Councillor David Shiner (Ward 24)

Toronto city councillors not present for vote:

  1. Mayor John Tory
  2. Councillor Vincent Crisanti (Ward 1)
  3. Councillor Mary Fragedakis (Ward 29)
  4. Councillor Giorgio Mammoliti (Ward 7)
  5. Councillor Josh Matlow (Ward 22)
  6. Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon (Ward 32)
  7. Councillor Denzil Minnan-Wong (Ward 34)
  8. Councillor Cesar Palacio (Ward 17)